Manitoba’s Premier Business Network

The Associates are senior-level executives and leaders who share the Asper School of Business’ commitment to excellence in management education, and represent a spectrum of industries and backgrounds. Over the past 37 years, the School has evolved to meet the needs of the local and national business community with the help of the Associates through their advisement, philanthropic contribution, mentoring, and many other types of involvement.

Asper 10 Year Event

The Associates Advantage

  • Network with more than 300 Manitoba business leaders
  • Attend seminars by some of the world’s leading thinkers, offering insight into business, politics, and current events
  • Access faculty members and cutting-edge research at one of Canada’s leading business schools
  • Connect with students through mentorship, internship, in-class and award presentations, and competition judging
  • Get a behind-the-scenes look at Manitoba businesses and community initiatives
  • Champion education at the I.H. Asper School of Business; membership fees support students, research, and facilities (and include charitable tax receipts)
  • Attend IDEA, our flagship event that recognizes excellence in entrepreneurship and supports the Asper School
  • Serve on the Board of Directors or on several committees within the organization
  • Help to shape Manitoba’s next leaders through the Young Associates

Dues & Membership

The cost of membership is $1300 annually. A $1075 charitable donation receipt and a $225 event attendance entitlement receipt are issued with the payment.

All Associates events and programs are complimentary, there is no additional cost to attend with the exception of the IDEA dinner which is a ticketed event.

Since 1982, all new members also receive an official welcome with an initiation certificate signed by the Dean and the Chair.

To learn more about the Associates membership, please contact AnnaMaria Toppazzini, CEO of the Business School Foundation.


Associates Membership Information Luncheon

Throughout the year the Associates have 4 membership information luncheons where further information on how and why to become an Associates are discussed.

The following luncheon dates are set for 2019/2020:

  • September 19, 2019
  • January 16, 2020 (Dinner)
  • March 26, 2020 (cancelled)
  • June 4, 2020 (cancelled)



Download Membership Application

Download Associates Brochure


Manitoba’s Premier Business Network

Leaders Advancing Business Education

300+ Leaders, 47% Asper Alumni, 60% C-Suite Executives, 20+ Events per Year

The Associates are comprised of over 300 senior executives from various backgrounds, representing the diverse sectors in Manitoba including private, public and non-for profit senior leaders. A complete listing of Associates may be viewed…

View Membership Directory

The Associates are a committed group of business leaders who believe in supporting business education and supporting our future leaders. Their commitment and to the school is evidenced by their long term membership with the Associates. We take great pride in the Associates commitment and every year at the Annual General Meeting held in the fall, we honour and celebrate members who have milestone anniversaries and welcome first year members. In 2018, the following milestone anniversaries were recognized:

H. Kleyson, John Proven and Colin Ryan

Founding Members who are still active - 36 years plus
  • Archie Arnott
  • Sheldon Berney
  • Richard Bracken
  • Robert Chipman
  • Norman Coghlan
  • Albert Cohen
  • John Fraser
  • Frederic Gaspard
  • Kerry Hawkins
  • Paull Hill
  • Serena Kraayeveld
  • Lawrence Pollard
  • Gerry Price
  • Donald Reimer
  • Hartley Richardson
  • George Richardson
  • Richard Riess
  • Gary Steiman
  • Arni Thorsteinson
  • Marvin Tiller
35 Years
  • Kevin Kavanagh
30 Years
  • H Sanford Riley, Richardson Financial Group Ltd.​
  • Hubert​ Kleysen, Kleysen Inc.
25 Years
  • James Lawton, Value Partners Group Inc.
20 Years
  • Richard Frost, The Winnipeg Foundation
  • Lawrence Prendiville, Prendiville Industries​
  • Charles Spiring, Wellington-Altus Private Wealth
10 Years
  • Bob Cox, Winnipeg Free Press​​
  • Philipp ​Ens, Triple E Canada Ltd.​​
  • Laurie Nesbitt, Florist Supply Ltd.​​
  • Ken Neufeld, Tundra Oil & Gas
  • Jose Correia, Bee-Clean​​
  • Joe Cyr, Price Industries Ltd.​​​
  • Stan Newman, RE/MAX Professionals