Board of Directors & Committee Members

The Associates are very fortunate to have active and engaged members. There currently are 52 members engaged in the various boards and committees, this is an outstanding amount of participation and engagement of our membership.

Colin Ryan

Colin Ryan


Senior Vice President & Managing Director
BMO Nesbitt Burns

Gady Jacoby

Gady Jacoby

Dean, Asper School

Asper School of Business

Andrew Stibbard

Andrew Stibbard


Regional Managing Partner

Arni Thorsteinson

Arni Thorsteinson

Chair, IDEA

Shelter Canadian Properties

John Proven

John Proven

Past Chair

Chief Operating Officer

Howard Morry

Howard Morry

Chair, Member Engagement

Pitblado LLP

Dean Schinkel

Dean Schinkel


Winnipeg Managing Partner
Deloitte LLP

Denise Zaporzan

Denise Zaporzan

Chair, Recruitment

Denise Zaporzan & Associates

AnnaMaria Toppazzini

AnnaMaria Toppazzini


University of Manitoba
Business School Foundation

Aaron Martyniw

Aaron Martyniw

Chair, School Relations

Vice-President, Commercial Financial Services
RBC Royal Bank

Hardev Bains
Lionridge Capital Management


Ex-officio Members


Moses Levy
Executive Director
The Asper Foundation

Joanne Sigurdson
Triple J Consulting

John Kearsey
Vice President (External)
University of Manitoba

Diane Gray
President & Chief Executive Officer
CentrePort Canada



Sean Lawton
Lawton Partners Financial

Debra Jonasson-Young
Executive Director
Stu Clark Centre



YA Representatives
YA Chair, Aaron Denysuik
YA Vice-Chair, Carly Edmundson

Past Chairs
  1. Chair 2016-2018 – John Proven, Chief Operating Officer, Conviron
  2. Chair 2014-2016 – Rick MacKay, Partner (Retired), Deloitte LLP
  3. Chair 2012-2014 – Joe Cyr, President & COO, Price Industries Ltd.
  4. Chair 2010-2012 – Don Whitmore, Chairman, Vector Construction Ltd.
  5. Chair 2008-2010 – Debra Jonasson-Young, Executive Director, Stu Clark Centre
  6. Chair 2006-2008 – Barry Rempel, President & CEO, Winnipeg Airports Authority
  7. Chair 2004-2006 – James Lawton, President, Lawton Partners Financial
  8. Chair 2002-2004 – Gordon Webster, Corporate Director
  9. Chair 2000-2002 – Rick Workman, President & CEO, Workman & Associates
  10. Chair 1998-2000 – William Watchorn, President & CEO, Watcor Ltd.
  11. Chair 1996-1998 – Robert Chipman, Chairman, The Megill-Stephenson Company Limited
  12. Chair 1994-1996 – Lawrie Pollard, Chairman, Pollard Banknote Limited
  13. Chair 1992-1994 – Del Crewson, Partner (retired), Deloitte & Touche
  14. Chair 1990-1992 – Kevin Kavanagh, Chairman and CEO (retired), Great-West Life
  15. Chair 1987-1990 – Kerry Hawkins, President and Chief Executive Officer, Cargill Limited
  16. Chair 1984-1987 – Arni Thorsteinson, President, Shelter Canadian Properties Limited
  17. Founding Director 1981-1984 – John Fraser, OC, Corporate Director


In addition to the Board of Directors, the Associates has five active and engaged committees, with approximately sixty Associates involved.

Associates Recruitment Committee

Chair: Denise Zaporzan

Committee: Lisa Cefali, Silvia DeSousa, Tracy Graham, Rennie Zegalski, Sean Lawton, Carly Edmundson (YA Representative)


To attract members who exemplify leadership and are committed to the relationship between the School and the business community

Roles & Responsibilities

The purpose of the Recruitment Committee is to develop and support programs that will encourage leaders in business who believe in the Foundation’s mandate to join the Associates.

    Associates Member Engagement Committee

    Chair: Howard Morry

    Committee: Hardev Bains, Diane Gray, Debra Jonasson -Young, Leilani Kagan, Ryan Behie, Joanne Sigurdson, Priti Mehta-Shah, Wilson Low (YA Representative)


    To engage and retain members who exemplify leadership and are committed to the relationship between the School and the business community

    Roles & Responsibilities

    The purpose of the Member Engagement Committee is to develop and support programs that will:

    • Increase member participation in Associates and Young Associates programs and encourage leaders in business who believe in the Foundation’s mandate become long-term, active members of the Associates and Young Associates.
    • Strengthen stakeholder relationships through reciprocal value creation (between members and the larger business community). The Committee focuses on providing value to the Membership offering.
    Nominating & Governance Committee

    Chair: John Proven

    Committee: Colin Ryan, Andrew Stibbard

    To ensure that the organization conforms to the principles of corporate governance, ensure guidelines are adopted, disclosed and applied, including board composition, director qualification standards, director responsibilities, orientation of new members, and succession planning.

    Roles & Responsibilities
    The Nominating and Governance Committee is responsible for recommending, reviewing and modifying, as approved by the Board, all governance-related activities. The Committee is also responsible for identifying qualified individuals for nomination to the Board of Directors of the Foundation and for the Associates Board, for ensuring new members are properly integrated onto the Board, including orientation, and ensuring the stability and depth of the Board is maintained over time by undertaking ongoing succession planning.

    School Relations Committee

    Chair: Aaron Matryniw

    Committee: Paul Lacap, Andrew Stibbard, Lysa Porth, Zhenyu Wu, Tony Quach (CSA President), Joseph Lovelace (YA Representative)

    To strengthen stakeholder relationships through reciprocal value creation between the business community, members and School stakeholders

    Roles & Responsibilities
    The purpose of the School Relations Committee is to develop and support programs that will:

    • Increase business community participation in the School’s priority initiatives
    • Encourage the Dean, faculty and School staff toward greater involvement with the business community.

    The School Relations Committee is comprised of 3 to 7 members ideally including, but not held to:

    • 1 Associates Board Directors (one acting as Chair),
    • 1 Associates Member-At-Large,
    • 2 Members of the Asper School faculty/staff,
    • 2 Young Associates Members and
    • 1 student
      • Connect the Manitoba Business Community to the knowledge and talent available within the School’s faculty including opportunities available for collaboration, cooperation and interaction
      • Increase faculty participation in external advocacy programs
      • Facilitate two-way communications with the Dean
    IDEA Committee

    Chair: Arni Thorsteinson

    Committee: Bill Baines, James Cohen, Joe Cyr, John Danakas, Gady Jacoby, Debra Jonasson-Young, John Kearsey, Rick MacKay, John Proven, Colin Ryan, Scott Roehl, Paul Soubry, Gary Timlick, Rob Vanderhooft, Gordon Webster, Rick Workman

    To bring recognition and awareness to the Asper School of Business and the University of

    Roles & Responsibilities
    IDEA is the University of Manitoba Business School Foundation’s signature event, and the premier event in Manitoba, that provides an
    opportunity for the business and academic communities to honour an individual who meets
    exacting criteria of the International Distinguished Entrepreneur Award.

    The IDEA Committee is responsible for recommendation of a recipient to the Board and University
    President for approval, securing the recipient’s acceptance, promoting, and overseeing the
    management of the annual IDEA Dinner.

      Visit IDEA Committee Page

      Founding Members who are still active - 36 years plus
      • Richard Bracken
      • John (Jack) Fraser
      • Paul Hill
      • Gerry Price
      • Donald S. Reimer
      • Hartley Richardson
      • Richard Riess
      • Arni Thorsteinson

      Contact us with any questions regarding membership or the website.