

ASPER THE ASSOCIATES



LEADERS ADVANCING BUSINESS EDUCATION



We are leaders, innovators, and entrepreneurs who take pride in moving Manitoba's economy forward. With more than 300 senior executives, the Associates have been a driving force — for nearly four decades — to advance education at the I.H. Asper School of Business. We believe in connecting students to the business community through mentorship programs, ongoing networking events, and philanthropy.

"Having a world-class business school is very important to our city and province, so I am proud to have been actively involved in the Young Associates and Associates for the past 25 years."

- Colin Ryan CFA, ICD.D
Associates Chair (2018-2020)



"The Associates' support impacts almost every program and activity at the Asper School of Business. Through their student mentorship, their help preparing our students for the job market, and many other generous contributions they provide, this dedicated group of business leaders empowers us to deliver one of the best business programs in Canada."

Dr. Gady Jacoby

Dean of Asper School of Business and CPA Manitoba Chair in Business Leadership

THE ASSOCIATES' ADVANTAGE

Network with more than 300 Manitoba business leaders

Attend seminars by some of the world's leading thinkers, offering insight into business, politics, and current events

Access faculty members and cutting-edge research at one of Canada's leading business schools

Connect with students through mentorship, internship, in-class and award presentations, and competition judging

Get a behind-the-scenes look at Manitoba businesses and community initiatives

Champion education at the I.H. Asper School of Business; membership fees support students, research, and facilities (and include charitable tax receipts)

Attend IDEA, our flagship event that recognizes excellence in entrepreneurship and supports the Asper School

Serve on the Board of Directors or on several committees within the organization

Help to shape Manitoba's next leaders through the Young Associates

PROUD OF OUR PAST

Founded in 1982, the Associates recognize that a worldclass business school needs solid, ongoing partnerships with the greater community. We bring students, faculty, and Manitoba's business leaders together at informal gatherings, seminars, and gala fundraisers.

MAKING A DIFFERENCE

Fundraising efforts by the Associates, through the University of Manitoba Business School Foundation, have brought more than \$60 million to the Asper School. An annual donation by the Associates is supported by thousands of in-kind contributions.

The time, expertise, and philanthropy of our members has helped make the Asper School into one of the leading business schools in

SHAPING OUR FUTURE

Our 300+ industry leaders know an investment in the Asper School pays off with future economic growth in our province.

As membership grows, so does the Asper School, offering more students opportunities to achieve their goals.

Students have access to internships and part-time and fulltime employment at some of Manitoba's top companies. MANITOBA'S PREMIER BUSINESS NETWORK

300+
Associates

47%
Asper Alumni

60%
C-Suite Executives

20+ Events per Year





ENTREPRENEURS

"Since IDEA was instituted by The Associates in 1984, it has become the preeminent annual event for the Manitoba business community and widely followed across Canada. IDEA has greatly enhanced the visibility and stature of The Asper School

of Business at the University of Manitoba."

- Arni Thorsteinson Chair IDEA Committee

IDEA - the International Distinguished Entrepreneur Award - is awarded annually by the University of Manitoba to an outstanding Global entrepreneur. Hosted by the Associates of the Asper School of Business, leaders from across Canada and around the world meet in Winnipeg to honour a business executive who has achieved international stature and made an exemplary contribution to the economic life of Canada or the world at large. The recipient is presented a custom designed, five-ounce pure gold medallion, specially produced by the Royal Canadian Mint. Since the late Albert D. Cohen of Gendis Inc. was first awarded the IDEA medal in 1984, IDEA has grown to become one of the largest must-attend business events in Canada.



Albert D. Cohen, Akio Morita



Israel Asper



David Thomson, David Barnard



David Foster



Heather Reisman, Arianna Huffington, Hartley Richardson



RECIPIENTS

Hartley T. Richardson (2019) James Richardson & Sons, Limited

Arianna Huffington (2018) Thrive Global

David Foster (2017) David Foster Foundation

Prem Watsa (2016) Fairfax Financial Holdings Ltd.

David Thomson (2015) The Woodbridge Company Limited

Linda Hasenfratz (2014) Linamar Corporation

Chip Wilson (2013) Lululemon Athletica Inc.

Stu Clark (2012) Storm Resources Ltd./ Rock Energy Inc./ Chinook Energy Inc./ Alliance Trust Company

Jim Sinegal (2011) Costco Wholesale Corporation

N. Murray Edwards (2010) Edco Financial Holdings Ltd.

Jim Balsillie (2009) Research in Motion

Peter Munk (2008) Barrick Gold Corporation **Dominic D'Alessandro** (2007) Manulife Financial

Dame Anita Roddick (2006) The Body Shop

Stephen A. Jarislowsky (2005) Jarislowsky Fraser & Company Ltd.

Howard Schultz (2004) Starbucks Coffee Company

Heather Reisman (2003) Indigo Books and Music Inc.

Gerald Schwartz (2003) Onex Corporation

Martha Stewart (2002) Martha Stewart Living

Edward Rogers (2001) Rogers Communications Inc.

Li Ka-shing (2000) Cheung Kong (Holdings) Limited/ Hutchison Whampoa Limited

Isadore Sharp (1999) Four Seasons Hotels and Resorts

Laurent Beaudoin (1998) Bombardier Inc.

Israel Asper (1997) CanWest Global Communications Corp W. Galen Weston (1996) George Weston Limited

Richard Branson (1995) Virgin Group of Companies

Roberto C. Goizueta (1994) The Coca-Cola Company

Dwayne O. Andreas (1993) Archer Daniels Midland Company

George A. Cohon (1992) McDonald's Restaurants of Canada Limited

Thomas J. Bata (1991) Bata Limited

Ronald Southern (1990) ATCO Ltd./Canadian Utilities Limited

Sir John Egan (1989) Jaguar, PLC

Ross Perot (1988) The Ross Perot Group

Akio Morita (1987) Sony Corporation

Jim Pattison (1986) Pattison Group of Companies

Paul Desmarais (1985) Power Corporation

Albert D. Cohen (1984) Gendis Inc.



Manitoba's premier business network of leaders, recognized for their accomplishments, entrepreneurial skills and contributions to the broader community with a commitment to advancing business education.

Take advantage of this sound investment opportunity by becoming an Associate in support and development of Manitoba's next generation of leaders.



The Associates Office

547-181 Freedman Crescent University of Manitoba Winnipeg, MB R3T 5V4 204.474.6201 info@associatesmb.ca associatesmb.ca

Front Cover Photo:

Dr. Gady Jacoby, Dean of Asper School of Business and CPA Manitoba Chair in Business Leadership Colin Ryan CFA, ICD.D, Associates Chair (2018-2020)



